Sturgis Rally
Sturgis Rally
Category: About Sturgis Rally
Hits: 651

A quick note from Sturgis Police:  Because of certain liabilities, handicap parking on Sturgis Main St is NOT ALLOWED unless you have a Handicap Permit.  It's a $100 fine. 

Section 5 – Violations and Bonds

(Revised 2016)

Most Common City Violations

Violation

Bond Amount

Panhandling/Soliciting

$130.00

Camping in the Street/City Trespassing

$130.00

Careless Driving

$110.00

City Parking Violations (City Parking Ticket)

$10.00

Curfew Violation (Juvenile Offense – Do not bond)

N/A

Deposit of Filth in Public Place (Littering)

$105.00

Disorderly Conduct

$130.00

Dog Running at Large (1st offense)

$75.00

Driving on Bike Path / Sidewalk

$130.00

Exhibition Driving

$85.00

Indecent Exposure

$130.00

Open Container in Public

$80.00

Parking in Handicap Zone (Use City Parking Ticket)

$100.00

Selling on the Street (Same as Unlawful Obstruct Streets etc.)

$105.00

Speeding in City Limits

Same as State

Stop Light/Stop Sign Violation

$110.00

Truck Routes & Use of Streets by Trucks

$110.00

U-Turn Prohibited

$85.00

Wrong Way on One Way Street

$110.00

 

Speeding – State or City on other than Interstate Highways

MPH Over Limit

Fine Total

1 to 5

$85.00

6 to 10

$105.00

11 to 15

$125.00

16 to 20

$145.00

21 to 25

$166.00

26 & Over

$220.00

Most Common State Violations

 Drug/Alcohol Violations 

Violation

Bond Amount

Furnishing Alcohol to Minor 18-21

Court A/R

Open Container in Motor Vehicle

$120.00

Possession of Controlled Substance

Custody Arrest

Possession of Drug Paraphernalia

$270.00

Possession of Marijuana

Custody Arrest

Possession of Substances for High Abuse (Distribution)

Custody Arrest

Underage Alcohol Purchase/Possession/Consumption

Court A/R

Underage Purchase/Possession/Consumption of Cigarettes

$95.00

 

Motorcycle Violations

Violation

Bond Amount

Cyclist Overtaking and Passing M/V in same lame

$120.00

Eye Protection Required

$25.00

Helmet Required under Age 18

$120.00

Illegal Handlebar Height

$25.00

Illegal Motorcycle Exhaust

$25.00

Operation Without Motorcycle Endorsement

$120.00

 

Driver's License Violation

Violation

Bond Amount

Canceled License

$170.00

No Driver's License

$120.00

Revoked License

Custody Arrest

Suspended License

$270.00

Violation of License Restrictions

$120.00

 

 

Vehicle Registration Offenses

Violation

Bond Amount

Expired Validation Sticker

$120.00

No Proper Vehicle Registration

$120.00

Operations Without License Plates

$120.00

Substitution of License Plates

$120.00

 

Weapons Violations 

Violation

Bond Amount

Carrying pistol or revolver without a permit

Info from Sturgis Chief of Police Geody Vandewater 
and  WikiPedia
South Dakota is a "shall issue" state for concealed carry. 
Permitless carry legal as of July 1, 2019. 
The local county sheriff shall issue a permit to carry a concealed pistol to qualified applicants. A temporary permit shall be issued within five days of the application. Concealed carry is not permitted at any public elementary or secondary school or in a school vehicle, in any courthouse, or in any establishment that derives over half of its income from the sale of alcoholic beverages which are ingested on site. For non-residents, South Dakota recognizes valid concealed carry permits from any other state.

Open carry is legal in South Dakota and does not require a concealed pistol permit. Firearms may be transported in vehicles if they are clearly visible.

When buying a handgun from a Federal Firearms License (FFL) holder, an application to purchase a handgun must be filled out by the buyer and submitted to the FBI NICS by the seller. Beginning June 1, 2009, anyone who passes the federal background check will be able to take possession of any firearm immediately, per SB0070.

South Dakota has state preemption of firearms laws. Units of local government may not restrict the possession, transportation, sale, transfer, ownership, manufacture, or repair of firearms or ammunition or their components. Preemption was further strengthened in 2019 by preventing local governments from restricting, prohibiting, imposing a tax, license requirement, or license fee on any of the above actions, plus the storage and purchase of firearm, ammunition, or components. It also mandates the attorney general to seek injunctive relief from any locality that violates preemption.

Firearms manufacturers, distributors, and sellers are not liable for injury caused by the use of firearms.

Custody Arrest

AS of July 1st, 2019, SD will no longer require a permit for Conceal Carry

 

Traffic Violations

Violation

Bond Amount

Careless Driving

$120.00

Exhibition Driving

$120.00

Fail to Immediately report Accident with Minor Damage

$120.00

Failure to Dim Headlights

$120.00

Failure to Yield to Emergency Vehicle (Move Over Law)

$120.00

Following Too Closely

$120.00

Illegal Barrier or Median Crossing

$120.00

Illegal U-turn

$120.00

Littering from Motor Vehicle

$170.00

Parking in Handicap Zone

(Use City Ticket) $100.00

Pass in No Passing Zone

$120.00

Reckless Driving

Custody Arrest

Stop Sign/Light Violation

$120.00

Throwing Match or Burning Object from Vehicle

$120.00

Violation of Right of Way

$120.00